My Dad

Today is my dad’s 60th birthday. According to genetics he’s my step dad but since he’s been the father figure in my life since I was 3 he has fulfilled the father role beyond expectations. I can only hope that I’ll be as good of a Dad as he is to me. Because of him I understand the power of an education, respect, honesty and the importance of a strong work ethic.

I think the challenge of being a step dad is one of the greatest ever. The reward has to be within yourself; the child will never have the genetic composition as the step dad and that creates a temperamental scenario. The step dad has to rule over the child version of another man. My step dad had the courage to take on this challenge and without him and his influence I can’t guarantee I’d be where I am today. Without his guidance and support my life would have been dramatically different.

Thank you Dolph for everything you’ve ever done for me. You always said, “I want you to have what i never had.” just by being my dad you’ve done that. You’ve exceeded your expectations ten fold and I won’t let you down. Happy birthday.

Leave a Reply

